Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
PhotoKB Home
Discussion Groups
Digital Photography
Digital PhotoDSLR CamerasZLR CamerasPoint & Shoot Cameras
Film Photography
35 mmLarge FormatMedium formatDarkroomFilm and LabsOther Equipment
Photo Technique
Nature PhotographyPeople PhotographyTechnique General
General Photo Topics
General TopicsAustralian PhotographyUK Photography
DirectoryPhoto Clubs

Photo Forum / General Photo Topics / UK Photography / November 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Fotosense addressed spam?

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Tumbleweed - 05 Nov 2005 21:10 GMT
I recently received some spam, that has a fotosense-specific email address.
Has anyone else ever noticed something similar?
e.g. I used email address of the form fotosense@mydomain when dealing with
them, and later got a phishing email, from another source, not fotosense
obviously, to the same address, which I have never used in the clear on the
net AFAICR (or find through google).

Signature

Tumbleweed

email replies not necessary but to contact use;
tumbleweednews at hotmail dot com

Janie Thomson - 06 Nov 2005 00:55 GMT
>I recently received some spam, that has a fotosense-specific email address.
>Has anyone else ever noticed something similar?
> e.g. I used email address of the form fotosense@mydomain when dealing with
> them, and later got a phishing email, from another source, not fotosense
> obviously, to the same address, which I have never used in the clear on
> the net AFAICR (or find through google).

Same happened to me with Photobox.

Signature

Janie
http://www.janiethomson.co.uk
janie at janiethomson dot co dot uk

Alan Clifford - 07 Nov 2005 07:26 GMT
T> I recently received some spam, that has a fotosense-specific email address.
T> Has anyone else ever noticed something similar?
T> e.g. I used email address of the form fotosense@mydomain when dealing with
T> them, and later got a phishing email, from another source, not fotosense
T> obviously, to the same address, which I have never used in the clear on the
T> net AFAICR (or find through google).
T>
T>

Yes, same thing - I used a specific address for Fotosense.  I emailed them
and told them, suggesting that either their database had been compromised
or that they had been selling addresses, and that I would not buy from
them again unless they provided an explanation.  They haven't replied.

Their web interface is rather dire anyway.  It doesn't work with my Mac
(they actually have information stating that there website doesn't work
with various browsers and only works with certain versions of Microsoft's
offering).  You have to join before you can order anything and the last
camera I bought for my wife, they didn't have (and there is a bit of a
story with that as well)..

I bought the camera from Bristol Cameras, www.bristolcameras.co.uk and
since then have purchased a memory card from them.  Their web interface is
easy to use.  A tad more expensive than fotosense but no hassle.  

Pity really because I bought my first camera from Fotosense and, as there
were ne problems with delivery and the price was very good, I intended to
use them again.  But they have actually managed to put me off as a
returning customer.

Signature

Alan

( If replying by mail, please note that all "sardines" are canned.
 There is also a password autoresponder but, unless this a very
 old message, a "tuna" will swim right through. )

Tumbleweed - 09 Nov 2005 07:32 GMT
> T> I recently received some spam, that has a fotosense-specific email
> address.
[quoted text clipped - 29 lines]
> use them again.  But they have actually managed to put me off as a
> returning customer.

I have emailed the data protection authority, waiting to see if I get a
response.

Signature

Tumbleweed

email replies not necessary but to contact use;
tumbleweednews at hotmail dot com

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.