Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
PhotoKB Home
Discussion Groups
Digital Photography
Digital PhotoDSLR CamerasZLR CamerasPoint & Shoot Cameras
Film Photography
35 mmLarge FormatMedium formatDarkroomFilm and LabsOther Equipment
Photo Technique
Nature PhotographyPeople PhotographyTechnique General
General Photo Topics
General TopicsAustralian PhotographyUK Photography
DirectoryPhoto Clubs

Photo Forum / Digital Photography / Digital Photo / March 2008

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Celebs On Steroids - Fun Photo Gallery

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
hpchuckyc@gmail.com - 27 Mar 2008 22:23 GMT
Gang,

A local radio station in my area has posted an AWESOME photo gallery
of what celebrities would look like if they were on steroids.
Obviously photoshopped, but funny!

You should see Eva Longoria and Calista Flockhart all bulked up!  LMAO

http://www.idigbig.com/pages/celebsteroids.html

Check it out...

Chuck
dvus - 27 Mar 2008 22:38 GMT
> Gang,
>
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
>
> Check it out...

...if you don't mind a site that's trying to install malware on your PC
every few seconds.

Signature

dvus

fish.. - 27 Mar 2008 23:00 GMT
> > Gang,
> >
[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
> ...if you don't mind a site that's trying to install malware on your PC
> every few seconds.

and is incredibly unamusing.
Dave - 28 Mar 2008 08:38 GMT
>> > Check it out...
>>
>> ...if you don't mind a site that's trying to install malware on your PC
>> every few seconds.
>
>and is incredibly unamusing.

What, the malware?
John Rowland - 28 Mar 2008 01:44 GMT
>> Check it out...
>
> ...if you don't mind a site that's trying to install malware on your
> PC every few seconds.

Thanks!
Atheist Chaplain - 28 Mar 2008 00:19 GMT
Fortunately my system is locked down hard enough that all I got was a bunch
of warning messages, others might not be so lucky

Signature

"Calling Atheism a religion is like calling bald a hair color."
Don Hirschberg

John Malcolm - 28 Mar 2008 16:19 GMT
I've not looked, but I'm guessing they are using images stolen from a
Worth1000.com contest:
http://www.worth1000.com/contest.asp?contest_id=18801&display=photoshop

> Gang,
>
[quoted text clipped - 9 lines]
>
> Chuck
Dave - 28 Mar 2008 16:59 GMT
>I've not looked, but I'm guessing they are using images stolen from a
>Worth1000.com contest:
[quoted text clipped - 13 lines]
>>
>> Chuck

You didn't even look at it. And you are to stupid to realize how
arrogant you are. What a pity..
John Malcolm - 28 Mar 2008 18:20 GMT
Now I HAVE looked at it... and I'm arrogant enought to realise I was right.
They have lifted images from the Worth1000 contest I mentioned and used them
without seeking permission or crediting them.

>>I've not looked, but I'm guessing they are using images stolen from a
>>Worth1000.com contest:
[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
> You didn't even look at it. And you are to stupid to realize how
> arrogant you are. What a pity..
Dave - 28 Mar 2008 20:13 GMT
>Now I HAVE looked at it... and I'm arrogant enought to realise I was right.
>They have lifted images from the Worth1000 contest I mentioned and used them
[quoted text clipped - 20 lines]
>> You didn't even look at it. And you are to stupid to realize how
>> arrogant you are. What a pity..

If you looked at it, and confirmed they were lifted from someone
else's web site, you are completely right to criticize it.
I only complained about your guessing (even if you were right),
but now you can state it. Because you have seen it.

I looked at the first few, ant it is boring.
Froot Bat - 28 Mar 2008 22:38 GMT
>Now I HAVE looked at it... and I'm arrogant enought to realise I was right.
>They have lifted images from the Worth1000 contest I mentioned and used them
>without seeking permission or crediting them.

Who should be credited and whose permission needs to be sought?

The copyright owners of the original images? The people who probably
stole the images without permission and pasted them together to zero
artistic, or other, merit? Or the site, Worth1000, that hosts the
probably stolen and used-without-permission images, pastes its own URL
across them and otherwise tries to profit from them?

Worth1000: Yet more proof that Web 2.0 = reinterpreting the word
"Share" to mean trying to profit from other people's stolen material
and hard word, while claiming no responsibility under the DMCA.

Btw, as I will post to any TPF:

Are you confident that you appear to be professional in your
electronic communication? Consider this:
                               A: No
                               Q: Can I top post?

Are you arrogant enough to continue posting like a lazy moron?

>>>I've not looked, but I'm guessing they are using images stolen from a
>>>Worth1000.com contest:
[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
>> You didn't even look at it. And you are to stupid to realize how
>> arrogant you are. What a pity..
John Malcolm - 29 Mar 2008 00:17 GMT
> Who should be credited and whose permission needs to be sought?

erm... Worth1000.com? Where the photoshopped images appeared. It's clearly
explained in their FAQ.

> The copyright owners of the original images? The people who probably
> stole the images without permission and pasted them together to zero
> artistic, or other, merit? Or the site, Worth1000, that hosts the
> probably stolen and used-without-permission images, pastes its own URL
> across them and otherwise tries to profit from them?

Photoshopping images of celebrities and politicians is more than covered by
parody, if you're referring to the ownership of the original unaltered
images. Worth1000 does not acquire images and paste their "URL" across them.
They watermark images submitted by their members to
photoshop/photo-manipulation contests. In contests not involving celebs
though people are expected to get source images from sites like stockxhange
and morguefile which allow images to be used freely. You obviously know next
to nothing about Worth1000 if you think they are doing anything for profit.

> Worth1000: Yet more proof that Web 2.0 = reinterpreting the word
> "Share" to mean trying to profit from other people's stolen material
> and hard word, while claiming no responsibility under the DMCA.

I still don't understand. How are Worth1000 profitting from "stolen" images?
What does Worth1000 have to do with the DMCA? What are you talking about?

> Btw, as I will post to any TPF:
>
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
>
> Are you arrogant enough to continue posting like a lazy moron?

No... I'm very, very sorry. I promise I won't do it again. BTW.... was it OK
to post inline instead of top post or bottom post? I don't want to get into
any more trouble.
Dave - 29 Mar 2008 05:29 GMT
>> Btw, as I will post to any TPF:
>>
[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
>to post inline instead of top post or bottom post? I don't want to get into
>any more trouble.

Congrats. This is the way to do it here because
this is the way you would have done in a normal conversation.
Froot Bat - 29 Mar 2008 10:35 GMT
>> The copyright owners of the original images? The people who probably
>> stole the images without permission and pasted them together to zero
[quoted text clipped - 5 lines]
>parody, if you're referring to the ownership of the original unaltered
>images.

Interesting theory.

Let's see what Worth1000 themselves say about parodies:
http://www.worth1000.com/contest.asp?contest_id=462

"In this contest you will create original parodies of the popular
Absolut vodka ad series."

"Do not use original vodka ads for your source material (legal
problems)!"

Yet, according to you, people can take _actual_ original copyrighted
material, without permission, make a small change to it, and it's all
legal and fine as long as you claim you are parodying the subject of
the material. Oh, and post some website address to where you happened
to find the material...

>Worth1000 does not acquire images and paste their "URL" across them.
>They watermark images submitted by their members to
>photoshop/photo-manipulation contests.

No, they _paste_ their URL (worth1000.com) over the images. Have you
even seen one? Next time you do, look closely in the corner.

>In contests not involving celebs
>though people are expected to get source images from sites like stockxhange
>and morguefile which allow images to be used freely. You obviously know next
>to nothing about Worth1000 if you think they are doing anything for profit.

Right at the top of the FAQ you claim to have read:

# Can I just donate money out of love and respect?
# Where can I find out about sponsorship and pricing information?
# Who do I contact if I'm interested in purchasing high volume
advertising on Worth1000?

Even after 5 seconds reading the site I obviously know more about
Worth1000 than you do.

In fact I'm starting to wonder if you've even been there before.

>> Worth1000: Yet more proof that Web 2.0 = reinterpreting the word
>> "Share" to mean trying to profit from other people's stolen material
>> and hard word, while claiming no responsibility under the DMCA.
>
>I still don't understand. How are Worth1000 profitting from "stolen" images?

What do you think the ads are about? Don't you know how "free" sites
make money?

>What does Worth1000 have to do with the DMCA? What are you talking about?

http://www.worth1000.com/help.asp?help=copyright
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.