Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
PhotoKB Home
Discussion Groups
Digital Photography
Digital PhotoDSLR CamerasZLR CamerasPoint & Shoot Cameras
Film Photography
35 mmLarge FormatMedium formatDarkroomFilm and LabsOther Equipment
Photo Technique
Nature PhotographyPeople PhotographyTechnique General
General Photo Topics
General TopicsAustralian PhotographyUK Photography
DirectoryPhoto Clubs

Photo Forum / Digital Photography / DSLR Cameras / August 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Nikon D70s pricing

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Morgan Perry - 31 Aug 2005 02:20 GMT
Is it me, or is there something wrong with this picture? A brand new D70s
for $429 USD??

http://wawadigitals.com/nid70dislrca.html

Has anyone ever heard of this place? After a little searching, I think they
may be connected to this place www.starlightcameras.com 
Peter A. Stavrakoglou - 31 Aug 2005 02:29 GMT
> Is it me, or is there something wrong with this picture? A brand new D70s
> for $429 USD??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Has anyone ever heard of this place? After a little searching, I think
> they may be connected to this place www.starlightcameras.com

File this under "another one too good to be true"
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller9573.html
Mike Warren - 31 Aug 2005 02:34 GMT
> Is it me, or is there something wrong with this picture? A brand new
> D70s for $429 USD??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Has anyone ever heard of this place? After a little searching, I
> think they may be connected to this place www.starlightcameras.com

There are so many suspicious things on that site. Here's a couple:

"[returns] permitted within 7 days from the date of purchase"

Not date of receipt of goods? If it takes more than 7 days to get it to
you, tough.

"Weight (without battery): Approx. 21 oz without battery,
memory card, body cap, or monitor coverd70s$429.00"

That could also be interpreted as the price without all
those items.

"Despite our best efforts, a small number of the items on
our web site may be mis-priced"

Hmmm.

You know what they say: " If it sounds too good to be true it
probably is"

-Mike
RichA - 31 Aug 2005 02:59 GMT
>Is it me, or is there something wrong with this picture? A brand new D70s
>for $429 USD??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
>Has anyone ever heard of this place? After a little searching, I think they
>may be connected to this place www.starlightcameras.com 

This CRAP crops up at least once a month.  Do you bastards work for
these people????
-Rich

"Bittorrents are REFUNDS for all the BAD movie products Hollywood
never gave us refunds for in the past"
no one - 01 Sep 2005 00:03 GMT
> Is it me, or is there something wrong with this picture? A brand new D70s
> for $429 USD??
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> Has anyone ever heard of this place? After a little searching, I think they
> may be connected to this place www.starlightcameras.com 

Read the disclaimers.

It's either "gray-market", i.e. non-Nikon USA and impossible to get
warranty service on if it breaks ...

or ...

it's bait 'n switch.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.