Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
PhotoKB Home
Discussion Groups
Digital Photography
Digital PhotoDSLR CamerasZLR CamerasPoint & Shoot Cameras
Film Photography
35 mmLarge FormatMedium formatDarkroomFilm and LabsOther Equipment
Photo Technique
Nature PhotographyPeople PhotographyTechnique General
General Photo Topics
General TopicsAustralian PhotographyUK Photography
DirectoryPhoto Clubs

Photo Forum / General Photo Topics / Australian Photography / October 2008

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Is Shopping Safari Any Good?

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Mike Warren - 16 Oct 2008 13:42 GMT
Has anyone here dealt with Shopping Safari?

They list a very good price on the Nikon 80-400VR, but some of their
other prices are not as good. I'm suspicious.

Signature

- Mike

Smeeegles - 17 Oct 2008 10:00 GMT
> Has anyone here dealt with Shopping Safari?
>
> They list a very good price on the Nikon 80-400VR, but some of their
> other prices are not as good. I'm suspicious.

website?
Mike Warren - 17 Oct 2008 13:33 GMT
> > Has anyone here dealt with Shopping Safari?
> >
> > They list a very good price on the Nikon 80-400VR, but some of their
> > other prices are not as good. I'm suspicious.
> >
> website?

http://www.shoppingsafari.com.au/c_181_Nikon

There are some other strange things about it, like they list the D50 and D70S.

Signature

- Mike

Smeeegles - 18 Oct 2008 07:44 GMT
>>> Has anyone here dealt with Shopping Safari?
>>>
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>
> There are some other strange things about it, like they list the D50 and D70S.

My guess is that they sell grey import goods.
Noons - 18 Oct 2008 10:17 GMT
Mike Warren wrote,on my timestamp of 17/10/2008 10:33 PM:

>>> Has anyone here dealt with Shopping Safari?
>>>
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>
> There are some other strange things about it, like they list the D50 and D70S.

Hmmmm, always a bit of a risk when an
online dealer doesn't have an address
or contact phone number anywhere, unless
you "register"...
Mike Warren - 18 Oct 2008 23:33 GMT
> Mike Warren wrote,on my timestamp of 17/10/2008 10:33 PM:
>
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
> or contact phone number anywhere, unless
> you "register"...

I don't usually buy on-line. I like to support the local shops while they
are willing to carry stock for me to try before buying. I think I'll give
Shopping Safari a miss.

I'm not sure I want the 80-400 anyway, now I've had a play with it. It's
sharper than the 70-300VR (which I already own), but not enough to justify
the significant price difference IMO, and it focuses *much* slower. This
would be a problem with birds.

Signature

- Mike

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2009 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.